It’s been a while since I’ve written a post. It’s been two weeks since these books were released. And yes, it’s taken me this long to get around to writing about it.

I wrote a series of Science Fiction stories for Capstone publishing, called Redworld. Here’s the link to an interview on their website.

The books are aimed at kids in the Middle Grade level (8 to 12). They’re short and full of action, in the hope that reluctant readers, especially, would be interested in picking them up, and give reading a go.

Books 1 to 4 of the Redworld series came out recently in library binding. Titles are

  • Homestead
  • Raiders
  • Tharsis City
  • Legacy

Redworld is the story of 12 year old Belle Song and her family who move to a terraformed Mars, to start a new life. She and her android Melody, along with lots of other characters, get into more trouble than you think a kid could find. There are hybrid animals, several alien species, and strange android creatures. Yet, with all the tech available, there’s still an element of the old world, especially among the struggling farming community that Belle finds herself in. Yes, there are elements of Star Trek, Star Wars and Firefly in them.

The art work is beautiful and exciting.  The artist is Tomislav Tikulin, who has done quite a bit of scifi illustrating. He did a great job bringing Belle’s Mars adventures to life. His art makes me want to move there.

I was thrilled to hold the library bound copies in my hands when they arrived in a box two weeks ago. The paperback version, which is the compilation of all 4 stories in one book, will come out in February 2018.

I kept a set for myself and sent the rest to former students of mine (and some kids of friends). They’re around the age of the targeted readership. I asked them to read a book each and give me their honest opinions. I promised to put it on this blog, WITHOUT editing their reviews. As they come in, I’ll post them here. Yes it’s a risk, but why not?

So, here goes the first:

Angus, in 5th grade (he read Book 2) said:

“After reading “Raiders, Water Thieves of Mars” all I can say is the book was simply captivating. There are multiple elements that are very creative and new, such as all kinds of animals and human hybrid races. Another thing is there are some things that could happen in real life like various school related problems. There are a few confusing chapters but they are easily overlooked. This is irrefutably a must for just about anyone.”

Well, thank you Angus for your honest review. I’m glad you thought the story was captivating. I would love to know more about the ‘confusing chapters’, since it isn’t my aim to confuse any of my readers. I hope to do better next time.

And so the adventure continues…

